Exhaustion

Gray morning sky

Room cold of the night.

Slowly my consciousness awakens

Eyes refusing to open

Not wanting to see that empty space

Next to me

In that bed that used to be ours.

I force them to open.

Force my legs and feet to get me up.

My hands to prepare me for the day.

Another day without you.

My body, mind, soul

Depleted.

Empty.         

Because I cannot hold who I love.

And I am not held by who I love.

YOU.

Exhaustion.

Utter exhaustion.

exhaustion

Leave a Reply

