Rubber duckies and purple buckets

IMG_9879

The BEACH.

The OCEAN.

VACATION.

without you

How?

Where am I going?

without you

We are shopping. In Newport.

Passing by a store front.

I stop.

My eyes rest on…

A rubber duckie. With sunglasses. A little shovel. A sand bucket.

I need a moment.

Tears welling up.

Wiping my eyes.

Breathe. Breathe. Breathe.

I enter the store.

A metal bath tub. Filled with rubber duckies.

My hand goes in.

Should I buy one?

The one with the sunglasses. The shovel. The sand bucket.

Your purple sand bucket.

We bought it…where?

Took it to P’town.

The beach in Wellfleet.

There’s the photo of you carrying it.

You wanted that purple bucket.

Your INNER CHILD.

Playful.

Unapologetic for being childish.

Playful.

You are not holding that purple bucket anymore.

Walking next to me on the beach.

 

Now…

YOUR purple bucket holds a Calla Lilly.

Now…

The shells we collected in YOUR purple bucket are held in epoxy in the lid of your URN.

Now…

I cry.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Beach

Leave a Reply

